[COMING SOON] Stripe Contact FAQ

Brief Overview

Once you have set up Online Payments in your practice, you may be contacted by Stripe who provide our payment integration on the Patient Portal.  This article explains the ways you may be contacted, the different reasons and what you need to do.  

 

The Short Version

You may receive an SMS notification from Stripe for: 

You may receive an Email notification from Stripe for:  

 

Instructions

1.  SMS notifications from Stripe

You may receive an SMS from Stripe for the following reasons. 

 

a.  Phone Verification 

When is it sent?

  • When a user signs up for a Stripe Account
  • When a user attempts to enter the Stripe Dashboard without a valid link
  • When a user attempts to update an email or bank account in the dashboard
  • When a user attempts to change their phone number (the SMS is sent to the new number)

Why is it sent? 

For phone authentication to ensure the authorisation of the person entering the dashboard or making changes to the login or payout information.  

What does it say? 

Your verification code is XXXX to receive payments from Clinic to Cloud.  Do not share this code with anyone.

 

b.  Phone Update Success

When is it sent?

If the user enters the correct code and successfully updates their phone number (sent to the new and old number). 

Why is it sent? 

Confirmation of change and so that if the phone number change was unauthorised, the user can correct it. 

What does it say? 

New Number:  This is now the phone number on your account for Clinic to Cloud.

Old Number:  The phone number on your Stripe Account for Clinic to Cloud has been changed.  If you did not make this change, contact support@stripe.com

 

c.  Payment Method Update Notification

When is it sent?

When a payout method is updated. 

Why is it sent? 

So that if the payout method change was unauthorised, the user can correct it. 

What does it say? 

Your bank account for Clinic to Cloud ending in XXXX was changed.  To view more information, visit https://connect.stripe.com/expresss/xxxx.

Note:  The URL will contain your unique account number in place of the 'xxxx'.  

 

d.  First Payout

When is it sent?

On first payout. 

Why is it sent? 

To let the user know that a payout was issued, so they know to reach out to Stripe if they don't receive it.  

What does it say? 

Hello!  Your $xxx payment is on its way.  To view more information, visit https://connect.stripe.com/express/xxxxx.  

Note:  The URL will contain your unique account number in place of the 'xxxx'.  

 

2.  Email notifications from Stripe

You may receive an Email from Stripe for the following reasons. 

 

a.  Welcome to Stripe!

When is it sent? 

When a user's new Stripe Account is created.  

Why is it sent? 

The email welcomes users to Stipe, provides an initial explanation of the benefits of their Stripe Account and sets expectations that Stripe may need to ask for more information in the future.  

 

b.  Email Confirmation Request

When is it sent? 

  1. When a user creates an account, the email is initially unverified.  There is a banner with a button in the Dashboard that prompts the user to verify their email.  Clicking the button sends a 'Confirm your email address with Stripe' email.  
  2. When a user updates their email under Patient Portal Dashboard > Account > Settings, they will receive the following emails: 
    • The new email receives the 'Confirm your email address with Stripe. 
    • The old email receives a notification about the change in email.  

Why is it sent? 

To ensure that the email on file is verified. 

 

c.  Stripe Needs More Information!

When is it sent? 

When a Stripe Account user hits a new volume threshold and they need more information.  

Note:  This is an unlikely scenario, however Stripe are required to monitor for fraudulent activities through the KYC (Know Your Customer) regulatory framework.  

Why is it sent? 

To ensure that Stripe meets financial compliance and regulation requirements.  

 

d.  We Need New Bank Information!

When is it sent? 

When a payout fails.  

Why is it sent? 

To ensure that the bank details Stripe have are correct so they can try to resend the payout.  

 

e.  Payout Account Was Changed

When is it sent? 

When a user updates their payout method or bank account.  

Why is it sent? 

So that if the payout method change was unauthorised, the user can correct it. 

 

f.  Email Verification Code

When is it sent? 

When a user is attempting to update their payout method, and the user did not access their Stripe Dashboard with a valid link.  

Why is it sent? 

To make sure an authorised user is making the payout method update.  

 

Further Reading

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request