How To Edit The Patient Portal Settings

Brief Overview

The Patient Portal is a feature that can be turned on to allow patients to manage their own appointments under the practices guidelines. This tool also permits patients to enter in their own data instead of the practice and gain access to receiving clinical data from doctors via the Patient Portal. As patients are the most underutilised resource in healthcare, this feature helps drive that by enabling the patient to be more engaged in their own health maintenance. 

As this is an optional tool to use, it is important that the practice consider and think about what their policy and workflow will be in regards to the Patient Portal. The power is with the practice in how much access patients have in driving their own healthcare experience. 

This guide will go through the process of how to set up the Patient Portal in the Patient Portal settings and how to create the new patient notification email. If this is a tool that is applicable to your practice, this article also highlights how to turn on this function. 

The Short Version

  • Go to 'Settings' > 'Patient Portal Settings'
  • Click on the 'Customisation' tab and tick the appropriate check boxes
  • Click on the Privacy Notice & Consent tab 
  • Create a 'Consent Form' if applicable
  • Create a 'Waiting List Disclaimer'  if applicable
  • Click on the 'Logo' tab and choose to use a practice logo or to use the same logo already in the system
  • Click 'Save' to record the changes
  • Go to 'Settings' > 'Notifications'
  • Click 'New Patient Notification'
  • Edit the email to
  • Ensure the email has the 'Patient Email' and 'New Patient Password' tags 
  • Include the following link: 'https://www.clinictocloud.com.au/Login'
  • Once you are happy with your email, click 'Update'
  • Turn 'On' and enable the Patient Portal  function

Instructions

Create and Customise The Patient Portal Settings 

1. Go to 'Settings' > 'Patient Portal Settings'

My_Settings_picture.png

2. The 'Customisation' tab is used to set what a patient is allowed to do once they log into the patient portal. These settings are as a practice so all patients that have been given access to the portal will be able to do what is set in the 'Patient Portal Settings'. Select the options you would like the patients to have access to.

 

Patient_Portal_Customisation_Picture.png

The left-hand side of the customisation tab showcases the different options of what the practice can give patients access to. You can determine which doctors and locations the Patient Portal will be available for by editing the fields under 'Allow Doctors' and 'Allow Locations'. 

You can also toggle on/off the following options by clicking on the tick box depending on whether you want the patient to have the authorisation or not.  The practice may want to allow the patient to book their own appointments but not allow the ability for the patient to cancel appointments. There is also the ability to add and delete appointment types based on what you would like the patient to be able to choose when they book their appointments. 

Customisation_tab__Appointments_and_admin_.png

On the right-hand side of the 'Customisation' tab, you can allow a doctor to publish clinical data to a patient via the Patient Portal. Similar to the appointments part, you can also toggle on/off the following option by clicking on the tick box depending on whether you want the patient to have the access to clinical data or if you don't want them to have access. 

Customisation_tab__Clinical_Data_.png

3. In the Privacy Notice & Consent tab, you are able to create a consent form and waiting list disclaimer for patients on the Patient Portal. If this is created, the patient is not able to use the Patient Portal until they acknowledge either the consent form or the waiting list disclaimer.

Patient_Portal_Privacy_Notice___Consent.png

To create a consent form click on the the "Create Consent" button (Picture). This link will take you to the below screen where you can create a consent form. Click the "Ok" button to save any changes made. 

Create_Consent_Picture.png

To create a waiting list disclaimer click on the "Waiting List Disclaimer" button. After finalising any adjustments made to the consent form and disclaimer, you can click on the tick box to toggle on/off if this will be active on the patient portal. 

 

4. Finally, it is under the 'Logo' tab you can add your practice's logo. If you already have a logo in the system you can just use the same logo. Click 'Save' once you have selected your preferred logo.

Logo.png

5.  Once all the necessary details have been filled out you can click 'Save' to record and implement the changes. Patients will now have access to the options that have been selected.  

Save_button.png

  

Patient Notification Email:

1. Go to 'Settings' > 'Notifications'

Notificaitons_link.png

2. Click 'New Patient Notification'

New_Patient_Notification.png

3. Edit the email to your specifications by using tags on the left to auto fill areas. Ensure you keep the following details on the template as this is where the username and password fill in for the patient:

Your login
'Password' and; 
'You can sign-in on https://www.clinictocloud.com.au/Login

Once you are happy with your email, click 'Update'

 

New_patient_notifcation_edit_screen.png

Turning On The Patient Portal 

You can enable this function on if this tool fits the requirements and general policy for your practice. You can turn 'On' the Patient Portal if it is not already on.

'Settings' > 'Patient Portal Settings'

My_Settings_picture.png

Click the 'Turn On' button to enable the Patient Portal. 

Turn_on_picture.png

 Note: “Names and clinical records used in this guide are not real patient details, they have been developed for demonstration purposes only”

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request